RSS Feed

Some South African Colloquialisms

Posted on

Howzit my bru? Talk like a South African

Some South African colloquialisms – essential language knowledge for any visitor to this neck of the woods.

Ag man! Oh man! Jolling Having fun
Aikona! No way! Just now Sometime (soon)
Bakkie Light pick up truck Lekker Great
Biltong Dried meat (jerky) Miggie Small flying bug
Boerewors Spicy sausage Mozzie Mosquito
Bokkie Sweethear / a doe Muti Medicine
Braai Barbecue My bru My brother (friend)
Cheery Girlfriend My China My mate
Cozzie Swimsuit Now now very soon
Diff Stupid Sarmie Sandwich
Dorp Small town Takkies Sneakers
Fundi An expert Trek Journey
Howzit? How are you? Tsotsi Thief / hooligan
Izzit? Really? Yebo Yes

In case you’re wondering, South Africans do say “talk like” instead of “speak like”

Lynda

About Lynda

Entrepreneur, Transcriber, English Language Editor. Owner of Intelligent Verbatim

Leave a comment